The Old Irrigation System

The town was established in 1855 and in 1860 the irrigation system was started and considerably extended up to 1865. In 185 the first water fiscal was appointed by the government of the Zuid Afrikaansche Republiek (Transvaal). Later all the furrows were lined with sandstone slabs. Standing in front of the present post office on the sidewalk one stands on the water furrow that passes under buildings and streets at numerous places. Until well into the 20th century Utrecht was a well know wheat producing town and a water mill was in operation from about 1870 until 1922.

Total Views: 2060  Daily Views: 0

Similar Places of Interest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *